Car Torque Search

Car tests
Picture gallery
Your pictures
About Car Torque
Previous shows
Your ideas
Link to us



Car of the Year 2005 winner announced

Broadcast dates : 20th March 2005
24th March 2005

The 2005 Car of the Year Competition reached its climax at a glamorous function at the Wesbank Raceway near Germiston this week.

Eight finalists were in line for the award after a year-long selection process by the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists.

The eight finalists represented a wide spread of the South African new car market.

At the entry level scale, there was the crisply-styled Ford Fiesta 1.4i.

And well into the premium level market there was the Audi A6 3.0 TDi, with an impressive mix of luxury and economy.

The competition in the hatchback market was fierce, with nominees from Opel with its new Astra 1.8 Sport…

Mazda with its new 3, in 1.6-litre form…

And Volkswagen with its new fifth-generation Golf in 2-litre turbodiesel guise.

Peugeot made the gala night thanks to its stunning styling on the new 407.

And Volvo was a strong favourite amongst just about every journalist we spoke to.

As usual, Wesbank’s charismatic CEO Ronnie Watson was host for the evening, this being the twentieth year that Wesbank has sponsored the competition.

But in the end it was Volvo’s S40 that was adjudged the deserved winner. An outstanding mix of cutting-edge styling, impressive dynamics, charismatic five-cylinder performance and the best value for money.

Car Torque is produced by